Acknowledgements, contributors and credits

This publication has been prepared by the Gas, Coal and Power Markets (GCP) Division of the International Energy Agency (IEA). The publication was led and co-ordinated by Stefan Lorenczik, Energy Analyst for Electricity.

Stefan Lorenczik, Paulina Becerra Zavala and Zoe Hungerford are the main authors. The report also benefited from analysis, data and input from Carlos Fernández Alvarez, Louis Chambeau, Mathilde Daugy, Jean-Baptiste Dubreuil, Keith Everhart, Saskia Galias, Julia Guyon, Craig Hart, Songho Jeon, Jinyoung Kim, Kazuhiro Kurumi, Luis Lopez, Akos Losz, Florian Mante, Gergely Molnár, Aloys Nghiem, JunGyu Park, Julian Prime, Céline Rouquette, Enrique Gutierrez Tavarez, Peerapat Vithayasrichareon and Jacques Warichet.

Keisuke Sadamori, director of the IEA Energy Markets and Security (EMS) Directorate, and Peter Fraser, Head of GCP, provided expert guidance and advice.

Further IEA colleagues provided valuable input, comments and feedback, in particular Lucila Arboleya, Heymi Bahar, Sylvia Beyer, Aad van Bohemen, Pedro Carvalho, César Alejandro Hernández Alva, Pablo Hevia-Koch, Nick Johnstone, Domenico Lattanzio, Divya Reddy, Grecia Rodríguez Jiménez, Michael Waldron and Brent Wanner.

Timely and comprehensive data from the Energy Data Centre were fundamental to the report.

The authors would also like to thank Andrew Johnston for skilfully editing the manuscript and the IEA Communication and Digital Office, in particular Astrid Dumond, Tanya Dyhin, Christopher Gully, Jad Mouawad, Jethro Mullen, Gregory Viscusi and Therese Walsh.

Several international experts provided input and/or reviewed the draft report. Their suggestions and comments were very valuable. They include: Brent Dixon (Idaho National Laboratory), Ganesh Doluweera (Canadian Energy Research Institute), Michael Hogan (The Regulatory Assistance Project), Francisco Laverón (Iberdrola), Enrique De Las Morenas Moneo (ENEL), Manabu Nabeshima (Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Japan), Emmanuel Neau (EDF R&D), Fereidoon Sioshansi (Menlo Energy Economics), María Ubierna (International Hydropower Association), Laurens de Vries (TU Delft), Matthew Wittenstein (United Nations ESCAP), Stephen Woodhouse (AFRY) and Rina Bohle Zeller (Vestas).

The individuals and organisations that contributed to this report are not responsible for any opinion or judgement it contains. Any error or omission is the sole responsibility of the IEA.

For questions and comments, please contact GCP (gcp@iea.org).

