

Media Contact:
John Singh or Aaron Henry
J2 Communications, (818) 458-7800
<a href="mailto:info@j2comm.com">info@j2comm.com</a>

# Rise of the Planet of the Apes and Super 8 Lead Saturn Awards With 3 Awards Each

Breaking Bad and Fringe Lead TV Winners as 38th Annual
Saturn Awards Are Presented in Burbank

**BURBANK, Calif.** – July 26, 2012 – *Rise of the Planet of the Apes* and *Super 8* each received three Saturn Awards tonight as the Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Films presented the 38th annual Saturn Awards, the top honors for genre entertainment.

Rise of the Planet of the Apes was named Best Science Fiction Film, and Super 8 received awards for Best Director (J.J. Abrams), Best Music (Michael Giacchino) and Best Performance by a Younger Actor (Joel Courtney). The Saturn Award for Best Fantasy Film was presented to Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 2; Best Horror Thriller Film was The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo and Best Action/Adventure Film was Mission: Impossible – Ghost Protocol. The 38th Annual Saturn Awards were presented for the period covering Feb. 1, 2011, to Jan. 31, 2012.

On television, *Breaking Bad* was named Best Syndicated/Cable Television Series, and also received Saturn Awards for Best Actor on Television (Bryan Cranston) and Best Supporting Actor on Television (Aaron Paul). The Saturn Award for Best Network Television Series was presented to *Fringe*.

"In one of the most rewarding years ever for genre entertainment, these films and TV shows proved that imagination, creativity and technology are blending in extraordinary ways, allowing these

previously specialized genres to become the very heart of the entertainment industry," said Academy President Robert Holguin.

Here is the full list of winners at the 38th Annual Saturn Awards:

#### **FILM AWARDS**

**Best Science Fiction Film**: Rise of the Planet of the Apes

**Best Fantasy Film**: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 2 **Best Horror/Thriller Film**: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

Best Action/Adventure Film: Mission: Impossible – Ghost Protocol

**Best Actor**: Michael Shannon (*Take Shelter*) **Best Actress**: Kirsten Dunst (*Melancholia*)

Best Supporting Actor: Andy Serkis (Rise of the Planet of the Apes)
Best Supporting Actress: Emily Blunt (The Adjustment Bureau)
Best Performance by a Younger Actor: Joel Courtney (Super 8)

Best Director: J.J. Abrams (Super 8)
Best Writing: Jeff Nichols (Take Shelter)
Best Music: Michael Giacchino (Super 8)

Best Editor: Paul Hirsch (Mission: Impossible – Ghost Protocol)

**Best Production Design**: Dante Ferretti (*Hugo*)

Best Costume: Alexandra Byrne (Thor)

Best Make-Up: Dave Elsey, Fran Needham, Conor O'Sullivan (X-Men: First Class)

Best Special Effects: Dan Lemmon, Joe Letteri, R. Christopher White, Daniel Barrett (Rise of

the Planet of the Apes)

**Best International Film**: The Skin I Live In **Best Animated Film**: Puss in Boots

#### **TELEVISION AWARDS**

**Best Network Television Series**: Fringe

Best Syndicated/Cable Television Series: Breaking Bad Best Television Presentation: The Walking Dead Best Youth-Oriented Television Series: Teen Wolf

**Best Actor on Television**: Bryan Cranston (*Breaking Bad*)

**Best Actress on Television**: Anna Torv (*Fringe*)

**Best Supporting Actor on Television**: Aaron Paul (*Breaking Bad*) **Best Supporting Actress on Television**: Michelle Forbes (*The Killing*)

**Best Guest Star on Television**: Tom Skerritt (*Leverage*)

### **HOME ENTERTAINMENT AWARDS**

Best DVD/BD Release: (tie) Atlas Shrugged, Part One and The Perfect Host Best DVD/BD Special Edition Release: Giorgio Moroder Presents Metropolis Best DVD/BD Collection Release: Stanley Kubrick: The Essential Collection Best DVD/BD Television Series Release: Spartacus: Gods of the Arena

# SPECIAL ACHIEVEMENT AWARDS FROM THE ACADEMY OF SCIENCE FICTION, FANTASY & HORROR FILMS

The Life Career Award: Frank Oz The Life Career Award: James Remar

The Filmmakers Showcase Award: Drew Goddard

The Milestone Award: *The Simpsons*The Innovator Award: Robert Kirkman

**The Appreciation Award**: Jeffrey Ross (for hosting the Saturn Awards)

Photos from the 38th Annual Saturn Awards can be found online at:

## http://tinyurl.com/SaturnAwards2012.

This year marks the 40th anniversary of the Academy, which was founded in 1972 by noted film historian Dr. Donald A. Reed to honor and recognize genre entertainment, which is frequently overlooked by mainstream entertainment-industry awards.

Over the years, the Academy has expanded its reach to include other genres, including recognizing excellence in television and home entertainment.

The Saturn Awards can be found online at <a href="www.saturnawards.org">www.saturnawards.org</a>, on Facebook ("The Saturn Awards) and on Twitter (@SaturnAwards1).

# # #